Democracy in action!

July 17, 2008 susettepalmer
Tags: , ,

Hi everyone-my first blog!

Tuesdays Council meeting gave me the opportunity to speak on policing-what the Lib Dem group believes is that we need more policemen on the beat and more visible policing and that we are suspicious of crime statistics that tell us violent crime is going down when we can see knife murders and racial abuse and attacks going up. We are glad to have the Community Safety Team that operates in our ward. Barnet is a pretty safe place to be but we are not immune as incudents in our Golders Green High Street have shown. (confusingly Golders Green is part of the Childs Hill Ward which I represent as a Councillor).  I also took the opportunity to say how fearlful the Conservative administration must be of our oratorical powers since they only tell the rest of us (I am Lib Dem) which 3 of the 8 or so resolutions we are going to discuss just before that section of the meeting. Childish!

I also took issue with Cllr Coleman on the proposal to charge shopkeepers £1000 to use any part of the pavement.  Personally I like to have vegtables on show and cafe tables on the pavement as long as they are not an obstruction and are kept clean and tidy which is possible under the existing legislation.

Finally if you come to watch a Council meeting you will recognise me – I am the one knitting _it keeps my blood pressure down and in no way stops me from speaking or heckling!  In my non-Council life I teach knitting to adults and you can find out more about that on www.susetteknits.org.uk

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Calender

July 2008
M T W T F S S
    Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

dashboard

Imprint

Printed and hosted by wordpress.com. Published by Susette Palmer 31 The Vale NW118SE on her own behalf.
 
